Anne Sutton's Blog

The intricate foibles of my escapades with ICT

oops first lesson a shock

on May 20, 2014

Yesterday I taught my first lesson on time and got a horrible shock. When I asked the students what they did in the morning, afternoon and night I realised they had no concept of these time frames. They did not know what they did when, or if afternoon came before night. Bang went my lesson! I also realised that I needed to have a lot more shorter activities to keep them busy and cater to the short attention spans of the ASD learners. Another helpful strategy to get the lesson back on track was to whisper the story, they all stopped giggling and fighting and began to listen. Today I will start at the very beginning with a sequencing activity on our daily routine. How I gey from there to time on a clock I am not sure yet.

Leave a Reply

