Anne Sutton's Blog

The intricate foibles of my escapades with ICT

Dyslexia differences

on May 11, 2014

I was really interested to read Bec’s blog on Dyslexia which can be found at http://becpeacock.wordpress.com/2014/04/27/professional-development-dyslexia-and-other-learning-differences/. She talks bout the fact that  for most learners when it comes to over-learning and repetition it takes around 7 times, for those who have learning differences it can take 49 times longer! Like Bec, I had thought it might take double time but was astounded to find out it was 49 times more. I was just thinking about the impact this will have on my teaching practice, how will it be possible to find the time in an already overcrowded curriculum to give these students the support and help they need. In some cases parents may be able to help their children but they may have learning difficulties themselves. I must say this had made me feel a little overwhelmed. Anyway, I recommend you read Bec’s blog on this it is really informative.

 

Leave a Reply

