Anne Sutton's Blog

The intricate foibles of my escapades with ICT

TED Talks: What FACEBOOK And GOOGLE Are Hiding From The World – YouTube

on March 20, 2014

I found this Ted Talk quite confronting.  Maybe I am naive but I had no idea that the information I receive on the internet has gone through filters and is  tailored to what it thinks I want or am interested in. You really don’t decide on what gets put in or taken out of the information you receive.  I might be over reacting but it made feel quite uncomfortable to think algorithms are filtering the information I receive.I would love your feed back on this, it only goes for 8 minutes and even if you only watch some of it I think it will make you think.

 

3 responses to “TED Talks: What FACEBOOK And GOOGLE Are Hiding From The World – YouTube

  1. Woah…. WOAH…. The Matrix has already started…. I’m going to move to Mars…

  2. annesutton says:

    Hmm I might join you, but Louise did you know they used algorithms to tailor your information? Am I the only one who believed my news was unfiltered?

  3. nathana9x says:

    Wow, what a thought provoking video. With the types of ICT educational videos I’ve been punching into YouTube lately, it has been flashing similar ones to me now each time I visit the site. Behind the algorithms are people, all vying for a bigger slice…..

Leave a Reply

